Húskarlr

I live by honour’s ways :
Never shall I stab in the back,
Never shall I, in vain, attack.
So shall I live til my last days.

Dishonour brings to all shame :
Never should one hit a lady,
Never should one say ‘maybe’.
So should one never be to blame.

I see men turn on men,
Make their kin insane,
Kill running men,
Make their kin insane,
Kill locked-up men,
Make their kin insane,
Slaughtering slave-men,
Make their kin insane.

Never use honour’s name in vain,
Don’t kill unless honour you’ll gain,
For you will have deserved it.

Always be a good man, be wise.
Help child and bride, tell no lies.
Be sure of where your arm will hit.

Live by honour’s rules,
Kill only fools
Who deserved death.
Draw their last breath !

Standard

Leave a Reply

